Skip to main content
National Sun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan

National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan

National Sun Yat-sen University (NSYSU; Chinese: 國立中山大學) is a public research-intensive university renowned as an official think tank scholars' community, located in Sizihwan, Kaohsiung, Taiwan, and Pratas Island in the South China Sea. NSYSU is listed as one of six national research universities, and one of four universities that make up the Taiwan Comprehensive University System, a research-led university alliance in Taiwan. With AACSB and CFA accredited and the No.1 maritime management program in Asia, the NSYSU College of Management is among the best in East Asia, and the College of Marine Sciences is the oldest and highest ranked in Taiwan.

The first national comprehensive university in Southern Taiwan, NSYSU was founded in response to national development needs. The alumni of both the original Sun Yat-sen University and the historical Moscow Sun Yat-sen University also have contributed to the establishment of the university. In the beginning, each the Sun Yat-sen Universities adopted a statism educational model (中山大學模式) based-on Dr. Sun Yat-sen's philosophy. At present, NSYSU is a regular public university, and is famous for its powerful political and commercial relations, its faculty and staff serve as elite bureaucrats and NGO experts to maintain close contact with industry and government officials. The exchange offices of the US Federal government, the Japanese government, and the European Commission are present on the campus.

NSYSU usually is ranked among the top 10  universities nationally and in the top 1000 universities worldwide in THE World Ranking 2022. It is organized into eight colleges, two National Key Fields colleges, but it also contains a considerable number of research institutes.

University Website:

National Sun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan